project 4 | moveable alphabet + cards

This is our homemade version of the moveable alphabet and we are enjoying it immensely!

materials:
wooden craft discs
Sharpie marker
clear contact paper
paper

instructions:
I created the word cards using Microsoft Word (four to a page). I just searched clip art to find the images and added 1.65″ circles beside each word for the letters (sized for the wooden craft discs). I intentionally left my document templates blank (didn’t insert the letters in the circles) so that I can reprint them without the letters as she learns to spell. The letters were added to the cards and wooden discs (blue consonants and red vowels) with a permanent marker. The cards are laminated.

27 responses to “project 4 | moveable alphabet + cards

  1. That’s a good idea. I have been collecting scrabble games at thrift stores to collect the letter tile I put in a jar. The kids create their own words or for the younger ones letter copying. I like your idea.

  2. This is a great idea. My son isn’t quite at this age yet, but I’ll tuck it away for later, thanks!x

  3. Fantastic idea. I was just at the craft store yesterday wondering what I could make out of those disks. And it’s perfect for my daughter who is learning to read.

  4. Wow! I’ve been agonizing over the purchase of a set of moveable letters. No more! Very creative.

  5. what a great idea! so perfect for my little Cami. 🙂

  6. What a great idea. So creative and educational too ;D

    Here is ours:
    http://www.lifeologia.com/this-moment-butterfly/

  7. what a fantastic idea. i want to put a bunch of your ideas on my blog soon. maybe a specific post. thanks.

  8. Thanks for stopping by! This project is so cute. I definitely need to make some for when I start working with Furry on his letters.

  9. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!
    I’ve been browsing around & love all your simple yet creative ideas for teaching toys and tools. 🙂

  10. Ooh I like this. Today, I almost bought a cheesy magnetic book with only a few words in it. So glad I didn’t, after seeing this post.

  11. What an inspirationally idea, it’s got my mind racing with ideas.

  12. Love this idea! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Hi there! I’ve just been looking through your old posts…and I’m so glad I did, because this idea is fantastic!! I’ve been wanting some montessori sandapaper letters for my Kindergarten son, but they’re so expensive. I think this is a great idea and I can afford it! Thanks for sharing. Will post a link back once I get them made. Maybe not until after Christmas =)

Leave a comment