project 15 | drop cloth floor pillow

When I started working on the playroom / learning space one of the things I wanted most to create was a reading nook. I wanted it to be comfy enough for her to take naps there as well, and large enough for us to sit with her for story times. I also knew that I didn’t want a big piece of furniture. After pricing jumbo floor pillows, I couldn’t find anything I liked for what I considered to be a reasonable price so I decided making one was probably the best option. My main criteria for the fabric to make the cover was that I wanted something durable and washable. Guess what! I already had the perfect thing right under my nose! A painter’s canvas drop cloth! I bought it a couple of years ago and I know I paid less than $10 for it. It was the PERFECT size! I had a large piece of unbleached muslin in my stash so I cut it just a tad smaller than the dimensions of the drop cloth, then sewed up up the sides leaving  little hole for stuffing. After it was stuffed, I made the pillow case out of the drop cloth. This really couldn’t have been easier. I folded it in half, stitched up two sides and put it on the pillow. The entire project took less than half an hour and it is PERFECT for our space. She has taken a couple of naps there already and it’s such a cozy, sunny spot for our storytime each day. I’m so thankful I didn’t fork out big bucks for a pillow that I wasn’t crazy about.

p.s. For those of you wondering, the framed blue rectangle is our flannel board. After setting up the space, I realized that we would get a lot more use out of it by framing and hanging it where we read.

4 responses to “project 15 | drop cloth floor pillow

  1. I love this!! I wanted the same thing but didn’t have any handy fabric. I got a dog bed from Costco, basically a large stuffed pillow. My husband makes fun of me by saying: Are you reading to the puppies?
    Thank you for the visit and comment

  2. Looks like a great pillow. It is always satisfying to make something new from what you have already.

  3. Looks like a very cozy, inviting space. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

