project 13 | board book recycling

With spring cleaning in full swing inside these walls, I’ve been continually faced with the decision to keep or toss.  I almost tossed these but I’m so glad I didn’t! This set of board books by Lucy Cousins was in sad shape but a few snips with the scissors and we have a sturdy stack of whimsical animal tiles…perfect for sorting, storytelling, and whatever else she dreams up. When she grows tired of them, chances are they’ll turn into wall art of some sort. They add a burst of color lined up on the top of the door and window frames. If you want to snag a set, check with your local used bookstore. Ours always has a stack of these.

7 responses to “project 13 | board book recycling

  1. Great idea…we have some puppy chewed books that I don’t know what to do with. Luckily it’s just the edges, this will work perfectly!

  2. What a great idea! This is one of my favorite board book sets, too.

  3. Great idea! I love finding ways to re-use damaged children’s books–I hate throwing them out!

  4. Mmm, I’ve got a few of these lying around that would be perfect for this… I just read Simplicity Parenting and I’m trying very hard to declutter our lives. I used to think I did a pretty good job of making sure only the things we really love stay in the house — particularly in regard to toys — but after reading that book I am itching to just get rid of more stuff. Books are hard for me to part with, though, even beat up and battered ones.

    Glad you’re back!

  5. I think I may actually still have these in my collection – albeit well-loved – this is a great idea!

  6. This is a brilliant idea! Thank you so much for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

