{ i n h a b i t } week two

My eyes naturally drift to this space again and again in the course of the day. And in this, the busiest of rooms, where stories and cereal spill, it serves as both beacon and anchor, gently steering my thoughts back into safe harbour and holding them steady when the rhythm of the day picks up an unexpected beat. Linked letters, scrawled in powdered white, hung high for all to see, reminding me just to BE.

How are YOU

capturing time,

filling your table,

making memories,

weaving rituals,

creating warmth,

encouraging deep roots,

nurturing creativity,

being fully present,

and learning to fully inhabit the space you call home?

There are several ways to participate.

(1) Comment and tell us what “inhabit” means to you this week.

(2) Leave a link to a relevant post on your blog. You may craft a special post or link to one in your archives. Kindly provide a link back here to make for an easy meandering through the posts.

(3) Link to a relevant Flickr image that shows what “inhabit” means to you.

Since it’s a holiday weekend, I’ve decided to keep the comments on this post open until WEDNESDAY, so you may add your thoughts any time until then. If you need further clarification, this post explains a bit more.

If you’d like a graphic for your {i n h a b i t} post, you’re welcome to use the one below but it is certainly not required. Enjoy your weekend, my friends . . .
S L O W L Y.

UPDATE: COMMENTS TO THIS POST ARE NOW CLOSED. IF YOU MISSED THE OPPORTUNITY TO PLAY ALONG, NO WORRIES! WE’LL START AGAIN WITH A NEW POST THIS FRIDAY. HOPE TO SEE YOU THEN!

13 responses to “{ i n h a b i t } week two

  1. very inspiring quote and post. i love to just ‘be’ and i love to have a harbour to turn to when things get tough. i think i need to write this post down into my journal.
    i think my post today qualifies as an {inhabit} post. what do you think?

    http://shellsbellsflowersshowers.blogspot.com/2010/11/inhabit.html

    (i’ve no idea how to link this, so just click on my name)

  2. Well I came here by soule mama looking for your this moment 🙂

  3. Wow, I love this. I feel like we’re on the same path in finding meaning, beauty…. with chalkboard prints and quotes.
    Oh my, you will know what I mean when you visit my link….

    http://www.lifeologia.com/giveaway-announcement/

  4. Beautiful. Thank you again for doing this… it is causing me to pause, to live more intentionally. I want “to hear the days sing like memorable poetry.”

    http://edegraw.me/life/i-n-h-a-b-i-t-the-nativity

  5. The library where I work is always closed the day after Thanksgiving, and it’s an awfully nice thing to be off the day after a big holiday, especially if you’ve been working hard during that time. So, today I was quiet at home with our kitty. I did what I wanted to do and it was very peaceful – on this day it’s very easy to {inhabit}! The trick will be to keep it up when things get closer to Christmas – let’s hope!! I’m expecting these weekend get-togethers will be helpful in that regard. 🙂

  6. How lovely! I have a set of 3 chalkboards (thins slabs of stone, very rustic) hanging in my kitchen. Its my hands-down, absolute favorite part of the kitchen and I write our menu there for the day – breakfast, lunch, and dinner. No more “Mom, what’s for dinner?’ 🙂

    Here is my post for {inhabit}… http://sofiasideas.com/2010/11/27/shrink-that-growing-giant-2/

    Can’t wait to read everyone else’s. Thanks so much for hosting this, totally up my alley! 🙂

  7. Thanks for the reminder to just “be”. It’s something I will be repeating to myself all through the holiday season. Here is my {inhabit} post for this week:

    http://bitsandbobbish.blogspot.com/2010/11/i-n-h-b-i-t-thanksgiving.html

  8. My {inhabit} post for this week is of a religious nature, if that’s okay with everybody: http://searchingforabalance.blogspot.com/2010/11/inhabit-ing-advent.html

    Advent blessings to all!

  9. hello dear! I’m writing to let you know that you won one of the copies of the Better Homes and Gardens Best of Christmas Ideas books I’m giving away on the blog. Send me you address to wisecraftblog@gmail.com and I’ll get you a copy right away! Thanks for playing along and sharing your lovely blog with all of us.

  10. I’d like to link my last post… I found you after following a link to Sofia’s Ideas and seeing her link to your blog.
    Hope this fits in with the theme… Not sure, but at least hope you’ll enjoy.
    http://furlinedtoiletseats.blogspot.com/2010/11/post-turkey-day-grumble.html
    Nice idea, by the way. 🙂 Thanks for allowing us to share here.

  11. Loving this. We are slowing down and really savoring this Advent season.
    We also had a lovely slow Thanksgiving-no running around-mostly being with each other inside the house and out.

    http://peachcoglo.typepad.com/peach-coglo/2010/11/thanksgiving-at-home.html

    I always enjoy your posts. They are so thoughtful and calm. This is something I strive to have more of in my life. Thanks so much for the opportunity to share!

    xo Angela

  12. The quote is inspiring, as are your own poetic words. “. . . where stories and cereal spill . . . ” Beautiful.

    Thank you again for hosting this exercise in mindfulness; I am so grateful to have found you in the beginning. My entry this week focuses on reducing obstacles to cooking so that we may enjoy the process of filling the table: http://www.nestingseason.com/creamy-butternut-squash-soup/