365 | the farm {part three}

The rich hues of this season’s harvest catch her eye against the weathered brown of the porch planks and she ambles up the steps for a closer look. Dried corn and rusted chimes swing from the rafters. Bees buzz. She makes her rounds…potatoes, gourds, squash, pumpkins and I explain and  I can see all the turning – the husk in her hand and the wheels in her head. She looks up at me with an expression that borders on disbelief. So this is really how it is? Seeds sleep in brown velvet, rain bathes, sun beckons upward, and they become this?  And I frown that the miracle was so long ago lost on me. And as I’m speaking cold hard facts into the upturned face of this explorer, I find myself suddenly awash with wonder at the wonderful and worshipping.

The Farm | Part 4

The Farm | Part 2

The Farm | Part 1

16 responses to “365 | the farm {part three}

  1. I love that beautiful blue color. Your writing is really nice to read. So poetic. Even if “the miracle was so long ago lost” on you, at least you are experiencing the new miracle of her discovery.

    • Having a child is like being given new eyes, in a way. I feel like I’m seeing so many familiar things for the first time. Thank you for your kind words, Carrie. It’s nice to meet you.

  2. What a delight to have found you, or did you find me? I’m really liking your style of writing. You paint such a vivid picture with your words. Thank you for sharing with us.

  3. You really need to write a book, if you aren’t already in the process!!!

  4. You have a way with a camera. Thanks for taking us along on your farm visits.

  5. It’s such a treat to read your posts and your pictures always inspire me to get out there with my camera more.

    P.S. Thanks for adding me on your links 🙂

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Kayte. There are many days when I don’t feel inspired at all. I was happy to add you to the links. I’m honored that you take the time to visit often.

  6. What a wonderful post. Isn’t it wonderful when you suddenly see something through a child’s eyes again.
    Beautiful!

  7. Lovely photos and such evocative prose. I am enjoying the blue and the Green Giant crates.
    Peace, Angela

Leave a Reply

