365 | the farm {part two}

She’s wide open crossing the yard and I know the destination by heart. Opportunity for distraction abounds at every turn but her compass is clearly set and on her heels I can see why. With her in view, they bound full speed on spindly legs to give the wee guest a proper hello. I remind myself that there is a fence between them and her own wobbly self, hold my momma tongue, and whisper thanks that there are places to let little people just be without too much fuss. Brown eyes dance merrily and two hands and a sea of noses slip and slide in and out along the fence line – greetings exchanged…plans made. I watch them, nose to nose, and wonder who is, in fact, the more curious creature – girl or goat. After a few minutes of catching up, she’s off again and I hurry my step to keep her in my sights. It feels different than before – quieter – as if everyone and everything is readying for autumn’s steady creeping. But heads lift as her feet pound out the distance between them, and soft eyes brighten against the grey morning as the sound of her girlish giggles rolls over the hills…

This post is the second, in the series, The Farm.

<<<Go back to The Farm : Part 1<<<

 

>>>Continue on to The Farm: Part 3>>>

 

15 responses to “365 | the farm {part two}

  1. Good morning sweet lady…just checking in…and so glad I did. I love your lists. Oh, and there is also a Picture Winter class that begins in Jan. after the holidays. There are several people who use the photos from the class for both the class submissions and the 365 project. I would love to have you join me. Although you could probably teach the class. Your photos are always so lovely.

    • Picture Winter sounds more do-able. I’ll keep that in mind. Thank you for the kind words but I could NOT teach that class. The truth of the matter is that I have so much to learn (and some great photo software!)

  2. I’m in love with that little barn feeder! thanks for sharing!

  3. Beautifully written, both parts 1 and 2. Like a good story 🙂

  4. I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying the Farm series. Thanks for sharing.

  5. You have an unusual blog here – really nice photos, poetic writing. It’s nice, Gina.

  6. Gina,
    Such fun, to follow along as you craft this space, here. I love the new banner, and the stories, and the whole big idea. I’ve got stacks of lists, also. Though not your organizational acumen 😉 So glad someone does!
    Molly

  7. hello gina! i love this new space and put you in my favorites a while back.. now need to update the blog. i love what you have created and how it works for you. it has been a while since i have left word .. life is busy! you are one of my most favorite stops. take care and keep in touch!

  8. Well done for just letting her be without too much fuss. This is often the hardest part of parenting I find.

    I love your pictures, goats hold a special place in my heart. I have always longed to own one.

    Nice to meet you!

  9. sweet, sweet post. isn’t it the best feeling when you’ve found a place where you can allow your little one discover with few inhibitions?

    what a lovely place you keep here…it’s so nice to meet you!

    xoxo,
    Nichole

Leave a Reply

