project 1 | counting beads


materials

wooden craft beads
wooden craft discs
pipe cleaners (or cord, if you prefer)
non-toxic enamel paints
permanent marker

instructions
1. Paint the beads. It’s easiest to string them onto a pipe cleaner (that you’ll eventually throw away) and then paint them. Otherwise it’s a bit of a messy endeavor. You can paint them however you choose but I purposefully painted all of my number 1 beads blue, number twos are orange, etc.

2. When the beads dry, remove them from the pipe cleaner and put them on clean pipe cleaners. Trim the pipe cleaners to appropriate lengths, leaving just a bit of space at each end so you can bend them and tuck the pointed ends inside the beads on either end.

3. Write the matching numerals on the round wooden discs.

Count the beads. Match them to the correct disc.

 NOTE: This game should be used only with adult supervision due to the tiny parts!

Venture over to Natural Suburbia for Creative Friday for more ideas and inspiration.

8 responses to “project 1 | counting beads

  1. You too Gina! So nice to see you. I actually popped over yesterday to bright and blithe and saw your post, but I couldn’t figure out how to leave a comment over there. Is this yur new spot? I LOVE it! Very creative lovely crafts for little ones. Hope you are well. I think the seasonal shift has brought blogging back around.

    :)Lisa

  2. What a great idea for a blog.

  3. Your counting beads are simple and beautiful, thank you for sharing. I like your new blog, what a great idea for us busy mums. I look forward to exploring all the ideas you are offering, I have just subscribed.

  4. Wow! This is such a great idea, and so simple! I love it!

  5. I agree…what a great idea! I’ll be back often!

  6. Hello Gina, this is a lovely little space with wonderful creative ideas. Thank you for sharing.

  7. I love this idea! So simple yet so effective 🙂

Leave a Reply

