Our Montessori Classroom: The Map Wall


As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I’ve spent the last few weeks working on our Montessori-style school room / play room (…see helpful resources here)  so I thought I’d share a few of our corners with you. I’m beginning today with our geography wall because it is probably my favorite part of the room. You can purchase laminated maps but most of the large ones I’ve seen are pretty expensive. We actually had this old map rolled up in the basement. I bought it at our local bookstore several years ago. Since she is such a hands-on learner (what preschooler isn’t?) I’ve been trying to think of creative ways for her to learn geography through play. She LOVES this one. I cut a medium weight sheet of plastic laminate (purchased at the fabric store) the same size as the map, and used tacks to pin it at her level on the wall. When we read books with geographic references in them, she can mark the locations on the map with a dry erase marker. Even when we’re not reading, she loves drawing on it and telling grand stories about her own imaginary adventures.

Go to Part II: Our Nature Table

p.s. There will NOT be a Poetic Play post this Monday…very busy weekend ahead, but look for one the following week!

4 responses to “Our Montessori Classroom: The Map Wall

  1. What a great idea to have it so big!! I mod podged one on a bulletin board and the kids use pins to mark locations. They love moving the pins about and telling me that is where they want to go on vacation next!

  2. You are doing a fantastic job! Thank you so much for all these wonderful online rescources which I just haven’t had the time to search the web and find for myself.

  3. What a great idea!!!! I Love it!!!

  4. Just popping in to say that I am absolutely loving getting glimpses inside your beautiful learning spaces. Thank you for sharing them with us.

Leave a Reply

